Tech I use, and tech I don’t

As we move closer to 1:1 laptops at work, and we keep having conversations about fascinating new technology, it seems time to do a list of which technologies I use all the time, and which ones I don’t. My plan is to do a post about each item on these lists and how I do or don’t use it (and why, which is probably more intriguing) In the meantime, the list by itself might be amusing.

Tech I use pretty much every day:

  • Books
  • Laptop (MacBook, in my case)
  • iPod Touch
  • Web browsing
  • Email (both on my computer and on Gmail as well as work’s FirstClass)
  • Blogs and online journal conversations
  • RSS feeds
  • Productivity and calendar applications
  • iTunes
  • Moodle (course software)
  • Notetaking tools (TextEdit, VoodooPad)
  • Computer based alarm clock (Awaken)
  • Radio (in the car)
  • Car

Tech I use at least once a week:

  • Cell phone
  • Google Voice
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Hulu
  • Podcasts
  • iWork (Pages, Numbers, Keynote)
  • Instant messaging (Adium, by choice, but also Google’s chat)
  • Watching DVDs on the computer (via Netflix)
  • Online health charts
  • Digital camera

Technology I don’t use or use very rarely:

  • Television
  • Console gaming
  • Landline phones (outside of work)
  • Dedicated ebook reader
  • Text messaging from the phone
  • Microwave
  • Video calls or voice over IP
  • Bread machine
Leave a Reply

