Tea, cookies, and some links

(While I’m waiting for the laminator to heat up for something for tonight’s conferences, today’s cookie recipe, and other links.)

Today’s cookies: the slice and bake palette cookie recipe used in previous weeks. This time with about 1/4 cup of good cocoa powder, and about 2 tbs of ground coffee, and half dipped in chocolate. They’re a little less coffee heavy than I’d hoped in flavor, but as people keep taking more, I am not worried.

(Why coffee? Tonight is our evening conference meetings, so faculty are here from 7:30am to as late as 8pm tonight.)

Links of interest:

The American Library Association posted the new core competencies today – these are the things they expect anyone graduating from a ALA accredited school to be able to manage. (I’m glad to say they all look within my grasp, personally.)

I think they also make an interesting look at the profession – ever since starting (and then finishing) my MLIS, I’ve run into people who go “You need a degree to do that?” Yep. And here’s why. A lot of it is similar to other academic disciplines – but some things, like an understanding of professional ethics, free access to information, and how to handle reference and selection decisions without echoing your personal preferences or biases, are not always intuitive things.

Strangemaps has some fascinating visual images – mostly maps, but some other kinds of visual information. A friend linked me to one that shows which languages point to which *other* languages are incomprehensible.

For example: we say, in English “It’s all Greek to me.” (Well, unless you’re me, in which case I pick something else, because I actually do read classical Greek enough that I can make sense of many things with a little help.) Anyway, the Greeks point to Arabic, and a whole lot of people point to Chinese. Seeing the patterns in the map is fascinating, and makes you think about geographic proximity versus trading partners and when these phrases might have entered the language.

Hivemind: There’s a recent great article about  ask.metafilter.com
and especially how they manage to keep threads civil. I’m a regular reader (I don’t read everything that goes by, but do skim when I have time and answer when something catches my attention – and it’s starting to become one of my first stops for information about odd questions that benefit from human experience – what to know about eye appointments when I was getting glasses for the first time, cooking questions, things like that.)

Anyway, the other thing I find fascinating about it is how they manage comments – the site’s got a pretty good (imperfect, but every site is…) track record of keeping the Ask Metafilter threads reasonably civil. Since I’m really interested in how you create online civil conversation spaces, I liked the details the article gave (and found the list of topics that get heated pretty realistic).  An interesting read, all in all.

Leave a Reply

